The purposes of this Association are to:

  • The purposes of this Association are to:
  • A. Promote and protect the interests, rights, and welfare of the retired educators of the Stevens Point area in conjunction with the Wisconsin Retired Educators’ Association (WREA).
  • B. Monitor and work to improve the benefits for retired educators and other members of the Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS).
  • C. Encourage Association members to maintain membership in the Wisconsin Retired Educators’ Association (WREA).
  • D. Develop working relationships with local service organizations whose main emphasis is on aging groups and with organizations sharing goals similar to those of the Association.
  • E. Inform Association members about and advocate for educational and other relevant societal issues.
  • F. Inform members of activities in the area provided for senior citizens.
  • G. Encourage Association members to be active participants in community affairs on an individual basis.

2016 September Agenda; 2015 May Minutes

Monday, September 12, 2016
“Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.” Nelson Mandela
(somewhat flexible)
Socialize @ 11:00; Lunch@ 11:45 a.m.; Program @ 12:20; Meeting called to order: 11:30, con’t 12:50 p.m.
President: Joyce Chekouras Co-Secretaries: David Blado, Lauren Isberner
Vice President: Santha Bickford Co-Treasurers: Jan Langton, Arvela Crawford
Immediate Past President: Mary Ann Krems
Meeting Greeters: SPARTA Officers
Call to order; Pledge of Allegiance; Time of reflection; New Members, Guests; Drawing for door prize
Consent Agenda/Officers’ Reports/Award: Minutes of previous meeting (consensus approval unless corrected);
Treasurer’s report (consensus approval); AARP Youth Service Award: Janeen Kwarciany
Introduce: Jordan Kaminski, our scholarship recipient
Introduce: Darlene Parkinson, our District III Co-President
PROGRAM: “Family Crisis Center” by Daryl Woods
Old Business:
1. Updates on the Book Committee
2. Menu
Committee reports (See News and Notes):
Committee chairs:
Legislative: Jack Allgaier Health: Jerry Kasdorf
Social: Eileen Payne Historical: Eileen Payne
Program: Santha Bickford, Eileen Payne Book: Nancy Kemmeter, Janeen Kwarciany
Sunshine: Suzanne Fee (Apr-Dec), Rita Leary (Jan-Mar) Membership: Mary Ann Krems
Audit: Eileen Payne, Arvy Crawford Retirement planning: Joyce Chekouras, Judy Zimmerman
Scholarship: Mary Ann Krems, Joyce Chekouras Portage County School Boards Committee: Elbert Rackow
POA: Joan Gilles, Santha Bickford
Liaison: Coalition of Wisconsin Aging Groups: Joyce Chekouras
**Volunteer hours recorder: Joyce Chekouras, 715-446-1485,
New Business:
1. Nominate & elect new officers
2. New Budget proposal and approval
3. WREA Convention updates (Sept. 27 & 28) & need for volunteers
**Luncheon Reservations: Call Mary Ann Krems 715-344-2453 or email (note: call in
Reservations by noon on Thursday Sept. 8, 2016; please let Mary Ann know if you have dietary needs.)
If you pay for your meal with a check, please make it payable to the Sky Club for $15.00.
Remember there will be a door prize.
Next meeting: October 10, 2016
October’s Program: “Arts Alliance of Portage County, Rejuvenating Downtown Stevens Point” presented
by Greg Wright
REGULAR MEETING: On Monday, May 9, 2016, SPARTA met at the Sky Club with 30 present.
The door prize was won by Ginny Williams. An agenda change was made. There will be no dues resolution discussion. There will be
an executive meeting at which time costs will be discussed.
Members (Nancy Mezyk, Elbert Rackow and Sally Dehlinger) who have currently turned in their volunteer logs were thanked.
Santha Bickford presented Joyce Chekouras with the 2016 AARP Community Service award. Congratulations and thank you Joyce,
for all you do!
OFFICER'S REPORTS: The Secretary's minutes were accepted as printed. As of the end of April the Treasurer reported a balance of
$xxxx in the checkbook.
COMMITTEE REPORTS: Legislative, Health and CWAG --As printed and distributed.
SOCIAL-- Eileen Payne shared the itinerary for this springs June 23rd trip. Remember to get your money to Eileen. Thank you Eileen
for all your efforts in arranging this excursion!
SUNSHINE-- Sue Fee sent a sympathy card to the Nancy Schmidt family.
BOOK--Nancy Kemmeter shared how successful this spring's book sale was. We give another huge “thank you” to the Central
Wisconsin Children's Museum for the availability of their space.
PORTAGE COUNTY SCHOOL BOARDS--Chair Elbert Rackow shared that two current administrators have taken opportunities in
different districts. The board continues to complete negotiations for teacher contracts. A new superintendent has been selected for
the Stevens Point Area School District.
OLD BUSINESS: Remember to make your menu choices and give to Mary Ann Krems.
Santha Bickford, Joyce Chekouras, Jan Langton and David Blado will be representing SPARTA at this year's District Three convention
in Black River Falls on Tuesday, May10th.
NEW BUSINESS: Janeen Kwarciany has been nominated for next year's AARP Youth Service Award. Congratulations!
Please consider serving on one or more committees next year. There will be elections at the September 12th, SPARTA mtg.
Joyce Chekouras thanked Anton and Mary Beth Anday and all those who participated in teaching at the Heritage Park School.
Every spring and fall members, Joan Gilles and Santha Bickford lead a Power Of Attorney class at the Aging and Disability Resource
Center. Joyce thanked these members for their expertise and time.
Santha Bickford urged members to invite and welcome new retirees to our SPARTA meetings.
FORMAL PROGRAM: Dr. Lee Bush, shared highlights from his year as Interim Superintendent. He distributed two handouts.
Meeting Adjourned at 1:35pm.
NEXT MEETING: On Monday, September 12th, 2016 at the Sky Club. "Family Crisis Center" by Daryl Woods, lead Crisis Counselor.

Respectfully Submitted by: Lauren Isberner

No comments:

Post a Comment